Painting the Guild Ball Farmers

So just wanted to share a quick post as have just finished off painting the Farmers Team for Guild Ball and record this for my own purposes. In essence I need to remember what paints were used when I pick up the second box of players next year!

So I really struggled here as the plastics are just not as detailed as metal models (no matter what the fanboys say) and the painting was harder as the washes just didn’t take as well and the depth of detail just wasn’t there. However I did enjoy painting some of the models (Grange, Windle, Peck and Tater) but others I just didn’t enjoy and had to force myself (Bushel, Harrow and Jack) and I couldn’t say 100% for sure the reason but the ones I enjoyed tended to have fewer layers of clothes on and seemed much more straight forward to paint.

I always wanted to include orange in the team somewhere so it was what colours worked with them and I did try a number of combinations before settling on brown and black. This may have been because I started with the captain but do think no if I had only started with Bushel then I would have had some blue denim colour in there too. However after completing and being happy with Grange I then painted up Tater and was happy with my scheme so completed the rest of the team in the same format.

Any black was painted with abaddon black and then higlighted with Eshin Grey. The main brown colour was XV-88 base with an Agrax wash and then highlights of Deathclaw Brown. For the orange it was a base of Jokaero orange, wash of agrax (to keep it consistent) and then highlights of Troll Slayer with extreme highlight of the Lugganath Orange edge paint. Any vegetables where just base coated white with the purple wash on top and the chickens were white with a double layer of Sepia Wash over them.

Happy with how these have come out and look forward to picking up the second box from Leodisgames early next year and getting Thresher on the pitch!

Leave a comment